Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Xbox One gets Unity

Xbox One gets Unity

Thu 27 Jun 2013 8:16pm GMT / 4:16pm EDT / 1:16pm PDT
Developer ToolsTechnology

Game engine adding Kinect and SmartGlass support, extends commitment to Windows 8 and Windows Phone 8

Much has been made about the indie-friendliness of Microsoft's upcoming Xbox One. And while the hardware maker's stance on self-publishing and other such policies may change, independent developers will at least be able to rely on the fact that it work with the Unity game engine. Unity Technologies today announced an agreement with Microsoft to provide development tools for the Xbox One, as well as Windows 8 and Windows Phone 8.

The Xbox One version of the game engine will feature added support for a number of the system's selling points, including the Kinect camera, SmartGlass second-screen gaming, and cloud computing. On top of that, developers whose games are being published by Microsoft Studios will get to use Unity free of charge.

On the Windows front, Unity said it will release the commercial version of its Windows Store Add-on this summer, with support for both Windows Store apps and Windows Phone 8 apps. As part of its deal with Microsoft, the company is also waiving the $1,500 license fee for licensed Unity Pro 4 developers.

1 Comment

Lindsay Cox
Unity Developer

28 48 1.7
This is all very cool!

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now