Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Todd Hollenshead leaves id Software

Todd Hollenshead leaves id Software

Wed 26 Jun 2013 9:53pm GMT / 5:53pm EDT / 2:53pm PDT
PeopleJobs

Bethesda confirms departure of Doom developer's president "to pursue other personal interests"

id software

id defined by Freud as the primal section of the human psyche; id Software, located in Mesquite, Texas,...

idsoftware.com

Todd Hollenshead has left id Software after 17 years with the company. As reported by IGN, the president of the Bethesda subsidiary has moved on.

"After many years with the studio, Todd Hollenshead decided to leave id Software to pursue other personal interests," Bethesda VP of PR and marketing Pete Hines told the site. "While Todd was not part of the development teams, he was an integral part of id Software's success as the business head of the studio and we wish him the very best in his future endeavors."

Hollenshead served as CEO of id Software from the time he joined the company in 1996 up until its acquisition by Bethesda parent ZeniMax in 2009. Since then, he has served as the studio's president.

The departure extends a tumultuous stretch for the studio, dating back to the release of 2011's commercially disappointing Rage. That was followed last year by news that the company was ceasing its mobile development in order to focus all hands on Doom 4. Earlier this year, a report emerged that the long-awaited shooter sequel had struggled in development, including at least one complete reboot.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now