Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

BAFTA extends deadlines for games awards and new breakthrough prize

BAFTA extends deadlines for games awards and new breakthrough prize

Wed 26 Jun 2013 3:24pm GMT / 11:24am EDT / 8:24am PDT
Media

Now November 11 and July 1 respectively

BAFTA

BAFTA is the leading independent charity supporting, developing and promoting the art forms of the moving...

bafta.org

BAFTA has announced that it has extended the nomination periods for both its yearly British Academy Games Awards and the newly founded BAFTA Breakthrough Brits prize.

Entry applications for the 2014 Games Awards can now be made up until November 11, 2013, with complimentary entry available for studios submitting their first game available until Monday, October 21 2013. Nominations for the new Breakthrough prize, which will honour British newcomers to the fields of film, TV and gaming, are now open until July 1 if you're nominating someone else and July 8 if you want to enter yourselves.

"By extending the entry period for this year's Awards, we're allowing developers more time to campaign for their games and make sure that up-and-coming developers have every opportunity to showcase their work," said the chair of BAFTA's Games committee Harvey Elliott. Last year we saw an encouraging rise in the level of new talent entering their games, and we look forward to seeing this continue."

Nomination periods for both awards are open now.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now