Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Steam working on shared game library [Rumor]

Steam working on shared game library [Rumor]

Thu 20 Jun 2013 3:26am GMT / 11:26pm EDT / 8:26pm PDT
Rumour

Valve may give you a use for all those Steam sale purchases

As Microsoft gets rid of its game sharing options on Xbox One, Valve may be launching its own shared game library on Steam. The internet sleuths at NeoGAF found code (below) mentioning the library in the latest Steam Beta update.

Valve has yet to comment on the feature, but it could work like Amazon's eBook sharing, meaning users could lend their Steam titles for a limited time. While a title is loaned out, the original user would be unable to access that title in their library.

If it works out, it would finally give users a use for all those games sitting in their library from constant Steam sales.

steam

2 Comments

Morville O'Driscoll Blogger & Critic

1,584 1,438 0.9
So, on the same day MS remove sharing the function from the XOne, it pops up on Steam. Timing! :D

It would have to work in a very specific way, otherwise there'd be a loss of sales, but I have no doubt it's do-able.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Greg Wilcox Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,193 1,170 0.5
Good, although I wish I could trade games for other games at some point... I'd LOVE to dump a few games and try others without committing to a sale and not every Steam game has a demo. Eh, that's asking for too much, so I'll stop here before I wake up with a horse's head in my bed... ;^P

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now