Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Square Enix opens mobile studio in Indonesia

Square Enix opens mobile studio in Indonesia

Mon 17 Jun 2013 8:24am GMT / 4:24am EDT / 1:24am PDT
MobileDevelopmentJobs

Java-based Smileworks currently recruiting in Surabaya and Jakarta

Square Enix has launched a new development studio in Indonesia, which will focus on the development of games for mobile devices.

The new studio, Square Enix Smileworks, is jointly funded by Square Enix Holdings and the Japanese VC firm Gotanda Denshi and Smile-Lab. Smileworks currently has a team of 23 people - 20 from the development community in Indonesia, and 3 from Square Enix's Japanese workforce.

The studio will create games for iOS, Android, Nokia Symbian and Windows Phone, primarily for markets in South-East Asia.

Square Enix Smileworks is based in Surabaya in Java. It is currently recruiting in both Surabaya and Jakarata.

2 Comments

Samuel Thomson Digital Artist

6 3 0.5
I just went over to the website and they're only looking for recruits aged 30 and below. Is this usual? Is it discriminatory? I'm just curious...
Also just out of interest, I found a website saying that an average Indonesian software developer gets 3.5 million IDR a month, or about 224GBP. There' seems to be plenty of UK software jobs advertising that as a day-rate so I don't think I'll be moving. I might set up my own studio there though. Can UK tax-breaks really compete against that in the long-term? .

Posted:A year ago

#1

Adam Campbell Associate Producer, Miniclip Ltd

1,199 1,017 0.8
Have a star Samuel for raising some very interesting questions there.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now