Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

100,000 players for Prison Architect

100,000 players for Prison Architect

Thu 13 Jun 2013 9:57am GMT / 5:57am EDT / 2:57am PDT
RetailDevelopment

Introversion's game making a success of early access

Introversion Software has revealed that its crowd-funded jail management sim Prison Architect has now had over 100,000 players.

The game is currently in Alpha and is available through Introversion's website, offering players different Kickstarter style "tiers" of access, and through Steam's Early Access programme.

In February the Introversion Software celebrated its pre-order totals for the game hitting the $1m milestone.

"Selling Alpha access is definitely the way forward for indie devs," co-founder Mark Morris told GamesIndustry International in March.

"We're by no means the first to try it, but I think we've hit on a nice hybrid that borrows from Kickstarter and crowd-funding ideas. We really wanted to be public about how well it has worked and the breakdown of the different tiers to help other devs to decide how to structure their own approach to selling their games."

1 Comment

Tom Pickard
Lead Environment Artist - Campaign Map

308 382 1.2
I saw their talk at Rezzed last year. They seem to have a really good approach to the games industry as a whole. I haven't picked up early access yet as it's not really my tye of game but I'm really happy for them that it's proving to be a successful funding method. If they can turn those 100k people into happy beleivers of early access who they tell their friends, It could be a great thing for the industry.

Posted:10 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now