Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Interplay picks up FreeSpace IP from THQ

By Matthew Handrahan

Interplay picks up FreeSpace IP from THQ

Fri 07 Jun 2013 11:25am GMT / 7:25am EDT / 4:25am PDT

Rights to classic space combat franchise acquired for $7,500

Interplay Entertainment has acquired the classic space combat IP Freepsace from THQ and Volition for $7,500.

According to documents dated June 4, acquired by Polygon, the deal went through on May 10. The first game in the series, Descent: FreeSpace - The Great War, was developed by Volition Inc. and published by Interplay in 1998. The sequel, FreeSpace 2 arrived the following year.

Both games were widely praised by critics, and their success was a significant part of the reason for THQ's decision to acquire Volition in 2000.

FreeSpace was among many IP thought to have been neglected in the auctions held after THQ's collapse.

It is currently unclear whether Interplay has any plans to create further games for the series.

From Recommendations by Taboola


Anders Lundberg Analyst

11 14 1.3
What else is Interplay than a quite thin bank account and a few IPs?

Posted:2 years ago


Greg Wilcox Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,423 1,397 0.6
Now, now, Anders... that's what Kickstarter is for these days... ;^P

Posted:2 years ago


Simon Arnet

54 3 0.1
Isn't Interplay becoming an IP troll? Do they have any resources to develop for the title? Such a shame.

Posted:2 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now