Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kixeye raises $50,000 for veterans with Battle Pirates bundle

Kixeye raises $50,000 for veterans with Battle Pirates bundle

Mon 03 Jun 2013 8:59am GMT / 4:59am EDT / 1:59am PDT
Charity

"We're not just about building high quality games, but high quality people"

With the help of its game Battle Pirates browser based developer Kixeye has raised over $50,000 for the Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America.

"With the timeliness of Memorial Day weekend, we felt it was very important for us to give back in any way we could, and support the veterans for all that they have sacrificed for us," said CEO Will Harbin.

"Many of our employees have family members and close friends that have and are still serving in Iraq and Afghanistan, and we wanted to show that we're not just about building high quality games, but high quality people as well."

The money was raised from Battle Pirates players who purchased a special IAVA-sponsored chunk of in game gold.

Kixeye isn't the only company supporting the veterans. Last month Wargaming supported National Military Appreciation Month and Activision donated $3.7m to its Call Of Duty Endowment in April.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now