Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

38 Studios court arguments begin

38 Studios court arguments begin

Thu 23 May 2013 3:49pm GMT / 11:49am EDT / 8:49am PDT
Legal

Dismissal cases presented for Schilling and fellow defendants, state promises "avalanche" of evidence against them

Arguments have begun in the court case over the 38 Studios collapse. According to a Providence Journal report, a Rhode Island Superior Court judge heard arguments yesterday over a motion from defendants to have the case dismissed.

Last November, the Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation sued 14 people and entities, including 38 Studios founder Curt Schilling, accusing them of fraud, negligence, conspiracy, larceny, and more in connection with $75 million in loan guarantees the state gave to the developer for relocating from Massachusetts. The RIEDC claims all of the accused, from Schilling to former RIEDC employees to the banks and lawfirms involved, knew or should have known that 38 Studios was not financially viable, even with the loan money.

In court, an attorney for the defendants called the accusations specious. The RIEDC's lawyer countered that the firm has an "avalanche" of evidence pointing to wrongdoing.

38 Studios shut down in May of 2012, months after shipping its first project, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. Earlier this week, it was reported that the state had found parties interested in purchasing 38 Studios' intellectual property.

1 Comment

Rick Lopez Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,269 942 0.7
This sucks, cause kingdoms of Amalur was a pretty good game. Would have loved to see a sequel.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now