Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Unity makes mobile dev tools free for indies

Unity makes mobile dev tools free for indies

Tue 21 May 2013 10:00am GMT / 6:00am EDT / 3:00am PDT
Mobile

Basic tool-set now completely free to small mobile devs - no license, no revenue share

Unity Technologies has advanced even further towards its goal of a democratic game development culture by making the basic Unity mobile engine free for independent developers and small studios.

Previously, the basic mobile tool-set cost $800 , but this new initiative will allow developers with the least financial backing and stability to create their games without the need to buy licenses or share revenue with Unity.

"We were able to make Unity free for the web and for desktop computers a while ago, but have been dreaming of doing the same for mobile for what seems like forever," said Unity CEO David Helgason.

"Mobile games development is possibly the most dynamic and exciting industry in the world, and it's an honour to be able to help so many developers be so successful in fulfilling their visions and in building their businesses."

This year's Unite conference will take place at the Vancouver Convention Center in Canada from August 28 to 30. A regional Unite Nordic conference is taking place right now in Malmo, Sweden, in partnership with the Nordic Game Conference.

1 Comment

gi biz
;,pgc.eu

341 51 0.1
So, that's a move to answer the upcoming Havok's offer? If I'm correct, Havok will also release a part of their source code, that's still one step ahead if that's the case.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now