Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

New Xbox supply chain ramps up for Q3

New Xbox supply chain ramps up for Q3

Tue 21 May 2013 7:39am GMT / 3:39am EDT / 12:39am PDT
Hardware

Parts manufacturers say components already shipping

Reports from the suppliers of components destined for the new Xbox suggest that parts are already being shipped for manufacture, with orders expected to be ramped up significantly in the third quarter to reach a demand spike in Q4.

Speaking to the Digitimes, sources at various electronics plants have indicated that they expect a strong upswing in business as a result of the deal, improving the financial results for the manufacturers involved.

The report names a number of companies as parts suppliers, including Lite-On IT for the optical drives. Asia Optical and Newmax are thought to be providing lenses - presumably for the next iteration of Kinect, whilst Jentech Precision Industrial covers cooling.

The new machine is to be manufactured by Foxconn plants in China, which have been troubled with accusations of low safety standards, worker suicides and other employment rights issues, but remain the preferred agent for many global technology companies, including Apple.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now