Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA unveils EA Sports Ignite engine

EA unveils EA Sports Ignite engine

Tue 21 May 2013 5:43pm GMT / 1:43pm EDT / 10:43am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

Tech will power next NBA, NFL, UFC, and FIFA games; FIFA Ultimate Team to be Xbox-exclusive

Microsoft wasn't the only company dropping news at the Xbox One event today. Electronic Arts' Andrew Wilson used the event to introduce EA Sports' next-gen sports engine, EA Sports Ignite.

Wilson said that in the next 12 months, EA Sports will launch four new games built on the Ignite engine. Those efforts will include its next games in the FIFA Soccer, NBA Live, Madden NFL, and Ultimate Fighting Championship series. Beyond showing off a trailer for the lineup, Wilson promised that EA Sports Ignite would allow for "10 times more animation, depth, and detail" in the company's games.

While the EA Sports Ignite efforts will certainly be multiplatform, Wilson used the Xbox One unveiling to spotlight a Microsoft-focused promotion. When FIFA 14 launches, the popular Ultimate Team trading card mode will be exclusive to Microsoft's consoles.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now