Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Google shutting down Google+ Games on June 30

Google shutting down Google+ Games on June 30

Thu 16 May 2013 5:15pm GMT / 1:15pm EDT / 10:15am PDT
Social

With Google Play games services, Google+ Games is no longer needed

Google has announced that games will no longer have a place on the Google+ social network. The section will be completely retired on June 30, 2013. It will be up to developers to offer an alternative destination site for games currently on the service. Players that have purchased credits and virtual items will also have to deal directly with developers for options on using unused payments.

The service was launched in August 2011, offering a place for games on Google's social network in response to the success of Facebook games.

Google is hoping players and developers will migrate over to the recently-announced Google Play games services. The cross-platform service brings multiplayer gaming, leaderboards, and achievements to games on Android, iOS, and web browsers.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now