Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

2m downloads in 3 months for Pixel People

2m downloads in 3 months for Pixel People

Tue 14 May 2013 8:51am GMT / 4:51am EDT / 1:51am PDT
MobilePublishing

iOS game brings in $700,000 for creators Lambdamu

Developer Lambdamu has cited its partnership with publisher Chillingo as key to the success of its iOS title Pixel People. The game has achieved 2 million downloads and $700,000 in revenue in the 3 months since launch.

Speaking to TechCrunch CEO Ivan Loo said the decision to work with Chillingo was driven by the need for "a huge PR splash."

The decision was a good one, the game secured 1 million downloads two weeks after launch. Interestingly chief creative officer Abhishek Radhakrishnan added that success may mean the next Lambdamu game may not need a publisher at all.

"Even if people don't know Lambdamu, we can say 'from the makers of Pixel People' on the next game's splash screen."

LambdaMu Games is based in Singapore and is currently focused on iOS titles. Its other games include Infinight, Dice Soccer and Crazy Critters.

2 Comments

Anthony Gowland Lead Designer, Outplay Entertainment

221 798 3.6
So aside from the fact it's just a pretty meaningless vanity metric, that's 1m in the first 2 weeks, then 1m in the next 10 weeks. Sounds like after the initial launch it's been forgotten about.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Robin Clarke Producer, AppyNation Ltd

343 812 2.4
Is that $700,000 before or after Chillingo's cut? It's not clear from either article.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now