Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

6 new HMV stores for Republic Of Ireland

Fri 10 May 2013 9:02am GMT / 5:02am EDT / 2:02am PDT
Retail

Retailer confirms plans for new outlets as it returns to territory

Hilco is planning to open six new HMV stores in Ireland with negotiations already underway with landlords in Dublin, Cork, Galway and Limerick.

The news was confirmed by Declan Stone of Colliers International, a commercial real estate agency, to The Irish Times.

In February the retail chain closed its 16 stores and made 300 staff from HMV Ireland redundant.

"Since his appointment, the receiver has conducted an assessment of the viability of the company and has actively sought a sale," said HMV at the time, in a statement explaining the closures.

"The marketplace is very difficult given competition from web-based retailers and digital downloads, compounded by a number of other factors including high levels of rent.

"All stores were loss making and it was not possible to attract a purchaser."

1 Comment

Private
Industry

1,176 182 0.2
Wonder if the accept gift vouches.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now