Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

My robot companion: living in the uncanny valley

My robot companion: living in the uncanny valley

Thu 09 May 2013 11:05am GMT / 7:05am EDT / 4:05am PDT
DevelopmentGameHorizon 2013

GameHorizon Live: Alex May discusses the need for robot companions and our reactions to simulated humanoid characteristics

Alex May is using art and robotics to investigate whether we need robot companions, and if so, what do we, as a society, want from them.

In this exclusive session from GameHorizon, Alex details the many uses for robot companions, including caring, robot nannies, sexual companions and home defence robots. He also discusses how humans interact with robots and how and why realism and humanoid characteristics can unsettle the viewer.

About

Alex May is a professional artist who utilises his extensive programming knowledge to create his own software for video projection installations and interactive digital artworks. His work explores relationships with digital technologies, and how human perception of reality can be altered and extended through code and light. He has exhibited around the UK and Europe including the V&A, Science Museum, the European Commission, and Holland Park in London, and the Science Gallery in Dublin.

1 Comment

Tim Ogul
Illustrator

335 462 1.4
In Japan they have talking robot baby seals that can keep old people company without freaking them out.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now