Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Fireproof: an alternative route to iOS success

Fireproof: an alternative route to iOS success

Thu 09 May 2013 9:45am GMT / 5:45am EDT / 2:45am PDT
DevelopmentGameHorizon 2013

GameHorizon Live: Barry Meade of developer Fireproof Games on the stubborn rise of the team behind The Room

After setting up as an art outsourcing company, Fireproof established its own internal development team to create the BAFTA award-winning puzzle game The Room, released to high critical acclaim alongside sales to match.

In this exclusive session from GameHorizon, co-founder Barry Meade argues that although the market for iOS games is tough, it doesn't mean a developer has to compromise his original design to get a game in front of a welcoming audience.

"We didn't just want to update somebody else's game," Meade says. "We didn't just want to add to a genre… If you're just doing that, you don't deserve success… These people are discerning. You should treat your audience with respect. You should try and do something new."

The Room has now sold more than 2 million units to a wide range of audience demographics - 44 per cent of players were women, and around two-thirds were over the age of 35.

About

Barry is a founding member and commercial director of Fireproof Studios, creators of acclaimed iOS game The Room. Before establishing the studio, Barry began his career working on titles for the SNES, Amiga and PC. In 2004 he joined Criterion and worked on Black and multiple Burnout titles. He has also worked at studios including Bullfrog, Acclaim Teeside, Negative Productions and Mucky Foot.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now