Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Paradox: Using an axe to carve a niche

Paradox: Using an axe to carve a niche

Wed 08 May 2013 2:25pm GMT / 10:25am EDT / 7:25am PDT
PublishingGameHorizon 2013

GameHorizon Live: "Add things [to your game] that only total nerds care about" - Paradox CEO Fredrik Wester

Paradox Interactive is a publisher and developer of grand strategy titles, including the Crusader Kings, Europa Universalis and Hearts of Iron franchises. CEO Fredrik Wester has built the company to become one of the largest independent publishers in Northern Europe.

In this exclusive live session from GameHorizon 2013, Fredrik questions the idea that there is no scope for a mid-core market, offering Paradox's loyal group of players as evidence. It isn't necessary to follow trends, argues Frerdrik, when you can create your own market by serving a dedicated fanbase.

About

Fredrik Wester is CEO, president and principal owner at Paradox Interactive, one of the biggest independent publishers in Northern Europe. Fredrik is a serial entrepreneur and founder of other companies, including the download portal GamersGate. Fredrik invests in tech, media and entertainment start-ups and also acts as chairman of the board at Camlac.

1 Comment

robert troughton UK General Manager, Epic Games

224 100 0.4
Fantastic talk - great talking to Fredrik at the pre-conference dinner, too. This was probably my favourite presentations of GH this year - great that it was all squeezed into 25 minutes, too, I think some of the other talks could've benefited from being shorter...

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now