Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Section 8 dev files for bankruptcy protection

Section 8 dev files for bankruptcy protection

Fri 03 May 2013 4:30am GMT / 12:30am EDT / 9:30pm PDT
Legal

TimeGate Studios owes Epic Games, Southpeak, and more

Section 8 developer and Aliens: Colonial Marines co-developer TimeGate Studios has filed a petition for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection, according to court documents obtained by Polygon. TimeGate owes money to less than 50 creditors, including Epic Games, online game firm Agora Games, and transmedia company DJ2 Entertainment. Total liabilities to those creditors range from $10 to $50 million.

Among the creditors is publisher Southpeak Interactive. Southpeak and TimeGate have been involved in a legal battle since 2009 over withheld payments and licensing issues. TimeGate Studios now owes $7.35 million in damages to Southpeak after a United States Court of Appeals judge denied TimeGate's appeal two weeks ago. The studio could also lose control of the Section 8 IP.

TimeGate's most recent release, Aliens: Colonial Marines, is also the focus of a class-action lawsuit recently filed against publisher Sega and co-developer Gearbox Software.

1 Comment

Aaron Parkes
C# developer

6 39 6.5
This is what happens when you don't put any effort into making a game.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now