Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Madden lawsuit proceeds to trial

Madden lawsuit proceeds to trial

Tue 30 Apr 2013 2:12am GMT / 10:12pm EDT / 7:12pm PDT
Legal

The original developer of Madden can have his day in court

A California federal judge has denied an attempt by Electronic Arts to dismiss a lawsuit from original Madden designer Robin Antonick. Antonick accused EA of not paying him royalties on any derivative works of the original John Madden Football, which includes every annual iteration of EA's Madden series. The lawsuit further claims that EA failed to keep Antonick's work on Madden confidential, as required by his publishing and development contracts.

"We have very compelling evidence indicating that EA used Mr. Antonick's ground-breaking code and design elements as the basis for both past and present Madden NFL titles," said Hagens Berman Sobol Shapiro LLP partner and Antonick attorney Robert Carey. "Yet, EA has failed to compensate him as required by his agreement or give him proper credit for his work. We look forward to proving our case at trial, and we are very confident that we will prevail."

Antonick is seeking damages from EA related to "unpaid royalties, punitive damages, and disgorgement of all profits." The case will proceed to trial, which is scheduled to begin on June 17, 2013. Leonard Aragon of Hagens Berman Sobol Shapiro LLP and Stuart Paynter of the Paynter Law Firm are also representing Antonick.

2 Comments

Paul Jace
Merchandiser

887 1,312 1.5
I wonder how many millions he wants.

Posted:A year ago

#1
I don't think any of us really know the ins and outs of this one. Hopefully he'll get what he's entitled to, whatever that is.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now