Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Papo & Yo dev: Sometimes exclusivity is the only way

Papo & Yo dev: Sometimes exclusivity is the only way

Mon 22 Apr 2013 9:52am GMT / 5:52am EDT / 2:52am PDT
Publishing

"If you are an independent you have zero marketing money"

Minority Media's co-founder Vander Caballero has explained why an exclusive release can be the best way to get a game published, that it had an "amazing relationship" with Sony for its Papo & Yo adventure game, and revealed the title is already paying back its investment.

"If you are an independent you have zero marketing money," he told Kotaku.

"You have nothing. Then you need someone to support your project. So, if someone asks you for exclusivity and it's going to help you to bring out your product into the market, I think that can be good. Sometime, I think it's the only way to get something out."

The studio's next game is currently being developed for Ouya.

He added that Papo & Yo, an unusual adventure set in a Brazilian favela, "cost $1.5 million to make and we've already made a part of our investment back," and that the studio was hoping the game will go into profit now its been released for PC through Steam too.

"It's a great opportunity for us because Sony really helped us to push the game out and make people know about it, and then they really helped us in the development, too. It was an amazing relationship."

1 Comment

Sebastian Moss Editor -in- Chief, PlayStation LifeStyle

57 19 0.3
Being exclusive certainly helps hype a product before it releases and ensures people have actually heard of the game.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now