Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nexon America hires former THQ VP

Nexon America hires former THQ VP

Mon 22 Apr 2013 2:49pm GMT / 10:49am EDT / 7:49am PDT
PeopleOnlinePublishingJobs

Ron Moravek will head live game operations for the online publisher

Nexon America, publisher of free-to-play online titles like Maplestory, has confirmed to GamesIndustry International that it's hired former THQ executive Ron Moravek to serve as its new senior vice president of live game operations. The news was first spotted on Moravek's LinkedIn page by VentureBeat.

Moravek spent 15 years at the now defunct THQ, where he espoused the games as a service model at the publisher and advocated for better game quality overall. Moravek also spent time as a senior advisor to NuCaptcha, CEO of Sitemasher, and vice president and chief operating officer of Electronic Arts' Vancouver game studio.

When reached for comment, Nexon America had no further statement, but it's likely that Moravek will play a larger role in the publisher's continued expansion into the mobile and social sectors. Nexon has been investing more heavily in mobile of late, with acquisitions of studios like inBlue and Gloops. The publisher also recently made an investment in Robert Bowling's new studio, Robotoki.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now