Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Unity co-founder reveals new studio Framebunker

Unity co-founder reveals new studio Framebunker

Thu 18 Apr 2013 1:00pm GMT / 9:00am EDT / 6:00am PDT
Development

Nicholas Francis working on tactical sci-fi game Static Sky

One of the co-founders of Unity, Nicholas Francis, has revealed a new mobile game development studio, Framebunker. Joining him in his new venture is former Unity creative director Charles Hinshaw.

Francis left Unity in February to pursue a career making games, and has now revealed the first title the duo are working on is a sci-fi tactical combat game called Static Sky.

"Tablets have become the platform of choice for many gamers, but the vast majority of tablet games are still utterly forgettable. They may be fun, but they aren't the kind of games that will be worth re-playing in 20 years," he said.

"At Framebunker, our mission is to deliver the kind of unforgettable experiences that tablet gamers deserve."

Static Sky will be released for tablets in early 2014. GamesIndustry International will publish an interview with the Framebunker team early next week.

2 Comments

Iain Stanford Experienced Software Engineer, Tinderstone

36 140 3.9
Soooo...are they using Unity to make this?

Posted:A year ago

#1

Matt Martin Editor, GamesIndustry.biz

173 113 0.7
Yep. They told me they don't get special treatment from Unity support but I'm not sure I believe them ;-)

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now