Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Google's Android on track for 1 billion activations

Google's Android on track for 1 billion activations

Wed 17 Apr 2013 9:43pm GMT / 5:43pm EDT / 2:43pm PDT
Mobile

Eric Schmidt says low-cost phones will get Google to 2 billion

In a talk at the AllThingsD's Dive Into Mobile conference, Google chairman Eric Schmidt said that activations of Google Android devices "will cross 1 billion in six to nine months." Schmidt said that 1.5 million devices are activated daily and more than 750 million Android phones are currently in use.

"In a year or two, we'll hit two billion. And the way that's going to happen is with the debut of low-end devices from manufacturers, primarily in Asia. If low-end smartphones are inexpensive now, imagine just how inexpensive they'll be a few years from now. A relatively inexpensive smartphone with a browser is all you need to get the world's information. And that's how we're going to hit the next billion devices," he said. "Android is by far the primary vehicle by which people are going to see smartphones."

The number of activations per day is up from the 1.3 million cited by Schmidt on September 2012. At the time, he also said that there were 500 million Android devices worldwide.

1 Comment

Bruce Everiss
Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
There are over 300 different companies manufacturing Android handsets in China, where they have 97.7% of the market. (according to the China Academy of Telecommunication Research)

A possible threat to Android in China is Alibaba Mobile Operating System (AMOS), with 5 handset manufacturers building for it. Alibaba have set up a 1 billion yuan fund to promote app development.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now