Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Random House launches free-to-play game

Random House launches free-to-play game

Mon 15 Apr 2013 8:27am GMT / 4:27am EDT / 1:27am PDT
PoliticsPublishingDevelopment

Joins forces with FailBetter Games for Black Crown

Book publisher Random House has joined forces with developer Failbetter to release a free-to-play narrative title.

The Black Crown Project is a free-top-play game that uses Failbetter's StoryNexus, a browser-based tool for creating interactive fiction.

"Supported and funded by Random House, Black Crown is powered by Failbetter Games' StoryNexus platform, with special functionality created for the Black Crown project. Additional features by Popleaf. The author will be revealed on launch in May."

Random House's Dan Franklin told The Bookseller the publisher hoped to attract thousands of players, and "there was a possibility that it will become a book and an e-book" in the future.

It's not the first time two companies have worked together, Failbetter created narrative game as part of the marketing campaign for Erin Morgenstern's 2011 novel The Night Circus.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now