Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo takes axe to Wii online services

Nintendo takes axe to Wii online services

Sat 13 Apr 2013 12:14am GMT / 8:14pm EDT / 5:14pm PDT
HardwareOnline

A number of Wii channels will be shut down in late June

Nintendo has announced that a number of the online channels for the Wii console will be discontinued on June 28, 2013. The affected channels include:

  • Forecast Channel
  • News Channel
  • Everybody Votes Channel
  • Nintendo Channel
  • Check Mii Out Channel

Nintendo also announced that any data exchange between Wii friends on WiiConnect 24 would also be reaching end-of-life. These features include message exchanges on the Wii Message Board, Mii exchanges on the Mii Channel, and data/message exchange in some game titles.

As we move towards an always-online future, the sad side effect is that some features will eventually be shut down on the consoles we love.

2 Comments

Paul Jace Merchandiser

945 1,433 1.5
Well atleast they haven't killed all of the Wii's online services....yet.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Greg Wilcox Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,195 1,170 0.5
I think they're onto something as only PART of the people (mostly industry types as opposed to the man on the street) WANTS an "always online future". I'm up to 300 people asked in this area this month and only 66 have said they want that sort of thing. The rest have many questions I've not even seen addressed yet anywhere in detail...

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now