Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Death Inc. gets $10 paid alpha

Death Inc. gets $10 paid alpha

Fri 12 Apr 2013 11:07am GMT / 7:07am EDT / 4:07am PDT
Development

Ambient Studios moves on after failed Kickstarter

It might have failed to meet its funding target on Kickstarter, but Ambient Studios hasn't given up on Death Inc. yet. Instead it's moving the game to a paid alpha model that let's gamers start playing today for $10.

"We were overwhelmed by the support we received during our recent Kickstarter campaign. Despite the fact we didn't reach our initial target, we did raise support of over 122,000 - that's a tremendous amount of support which has given us the confidence to push on," studio director Jonny Hopper told VG247.

"Doing it ourselves has also given us the freedom to give more back to the community. Players who pre-purchase the game now will be able to join us on this incredible journey as Death Inc. helping us shape it into the game we know will be enjoyed by the world over.

"The tiered nature of Kickstarter meant it made sense for us to limit alpha access to players who pledged $40 or more; now everyone who supports us will get immediate access to the game through until the final version later this year."

The alpha will give participants access to game, and the chance to give feedback on its progress.The finished game will be released in November.

It was March when the Death Inc. Kickstarter campaign ended, raising just 122,711 of its 300,000 goal.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now