Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

nDreams dev starts indie studio Hoverfly

nDreams dev starts indie studio Hoverfly

Thu 11 Apr 2013 11:37am GMT / 7:37am EDT / 4:37am PDT
DevelopmentJobs

Nicholas Pendriis' team is spread between UK, Los Angeles and Tokyo

Nicholas Pendriis, a former game designer at the UK developer nDreams, has founded a new independent studio, Hoverfly.

In an interview with Develop, Pendriis spoke of the difficulties he encountered trying to find a job after returning from a position in Japan. Hoverfly was actually started in June last year, "in response to my difficult circumstances."

"My resume is respectable and my references show that I'm an asset but it's tough out there. For everyone," he said.

"So I decided to create my own job. One that would capitalise on my lifetime of experience, skills, ideas, contacts and intellectual properties. That stuff has value."

Hoverfly is currently working on a project developed in Unity and targeted for an initial release on PC, iOS and Android. The company's staff is spread between the UK, Los Angeles and Tokyo, with Pendriis comparing its structure to that common among production companies in the film industry.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now