Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Rod Fergusson leaves Irrational

By Brendan Sinclair

Rod Fergusson leaves Irrational

Mon 08 Apr 2013 9:04pm GMT / 5:04pm EDT / 2:04pm PDT

With BioShock Infinite out the door, Gears of War producer departs after eight months on the job

Rod Fergusson is on the move again. As reported by Polygon, the former Gears of War producer will depart Irrational Games some eight months after he originally joined the studio as its executive vice president of development.

Fergusson told the site that he had joined Irrational always intending to leave after the release BioShock Infinite, which shipped last month to a glowing critical reception. Fergusson said he had heard the studio needed a "closer" to help get the first-person shooter out the door, and "Now with the game shipped successfully, I've done what I set out to do here and now I'm looking forward to the next chapter in my life and career."

It's unclear what that next chapter will be. Fergusson is wrapping up his tenure at Irrational currently, and is unsure where he'll wind up next.

From Recommendations by Taboola


Paul Jace Merchandiser

1,100 1,771 1.6
That was a quickie.

Posted:2 years ago


Tim Carter Designer - Writer - Producer

608 346 0.6
That's how really creative people do it.

Posted:2 years ago


David Radd Senior Editor, IndustryGamers

360 80 0.2
If this was the plan all along, mission accomplished. He helped wrap up a heckuva game.

Posted:2 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now