Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Minecraft PC hits 10m sales

Minecraft PC hits 10m sales

Fri 05 Apr 2013 7:44am GMT / 3:44am EDT / 12:44am PDT
RetailDevelopment

Mojang hits yet another milestone as growth continues apace

Yet another milestone has tumbled in Mojang's irresistible rise, as the PC edition of Minecraft hits 10 million sales.

The figure was tweeted by Mojang's lead designer and developer Jens Bergensten, who also linked to a picture of a woman stroking a horse as a "hint" at one of the main features of Minecraft's forthcoming 1.6 update.

Last year was highly lucrative for the Swedish studio, with Minecraft's various versions selling more than 15 million units in 2012. That equated to around $240 million in revenue, with $100 million coming from licensing deals alone.

And Mojang is facing the future, with a deal for a series of Minecraft books and a family-focused Minecraft subscription service both unveiled last month.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now