Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

US Department of State releases educational game

US Department of State releases educational game

Wed 03 Apr 2013 1:18pm GMT / 9:18am EDT / 6:18am PDT
Education

Trace Effects designed to improve language skills and knowledge of American culture

The U.S. Department of State has joined forces with interactive marketing agency The SuperGroup to release its first game, Trace Effects, which aims to teach 12 - 16 year olds both American culture and better English.

"To make language learning effective for the new generation of international students, an enjoyable, and robust environment is needed - one where they can interact with virtual characters, and learn from 'real life' situations," said Brad Lewis of The SuperGroup, which has also worked with Disney, Coca-Cola and Johnson & Johnson.

"This interactive experience allows students to learn English communicatively, and, equally important, to learn about American culture through an educational process that feels natural, not artificial."

The free browser game is available now online and on mobile phones, comes with an array of supporting materials for teachers and was tested in Peru, Columbia, and Indonesia.

The game was developed as part of the US governments plans to encourage federal agencies to use games to educate and inform people about important issues. President Obama has also launched an Educate to Innovate programme to encourage more students to explore the subjects of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

1 Comment

Sells like garbage. Imagine USSR with video game propaganda...

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now