Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Suda51: GungHo acquisition means complete creative freedom

Suda51: GungHo acquisition means complete creative freedom

Tue 02 Apr 2013 7:56am GMT / 3:56am EDT / 12:56am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

Killer 7 creator on Grasshopper Manufacture deal

Goichi "Suda51" Suda, head of Grasshopper Manufacture, has explained the benefits of his company's recent acquisition by GungHo entertainment and why its new owners aren't risk averse.

"This is a good thing because now I can focus more on the creative side," Suda told Polygon.

"GungHo is providing me with complete creative freedom. I've worked with multiple publishers in the past, but I don't think there are many presidents out there who will provide such freedom to their development team. Now I can focus even more than I could in the past, so I think this will be a good thing for Grasshopper."

He also said that when presented with a portfolio of game ideas, GungHo chose the two that Suda had considered the riskiest. Given his previous back catalogue includes games with a touch of the bizarre like Killer 7 and Shadows Of The Damned, it's not surprise that GungHo weren't put off by a few crazy ideas.

"The world that Suda has in his mind is something we can't create at GungHo, so it's about having something we don't and working with that world," added GungHo president Kazuki Morishita.

Gungho Online Entertainment has also acquired Game Arts, Gravity Co and Acquire in its lifetime.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now