Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Report - Supercell closing $100m funding round

Report - Supercell closing $100m funding round

Tue 02 Apr 2013 10:42am GMT / 6:42am EDT / 3:42am PDT
DevelopmentFinancial

Company valuation set at around $800 million

Latest reports suggest Clash of Clans developer Supercell is currently closing a $100 million funding round and now boasts a valuation of $800 million.

Venture Partners, Atomico and Index Ventures are the reported investors with 15 per cent to 20 per cent of the company sold.

"We simply will not comment on market rumours, we've never really done that and will not do that now."" Supercell spokesperson Heini Vesander told Techcrunch, who broke the story, but GamesBeat reported it had verified the story with "multiple sources at the Game Developers Conference in San Francisco."

In 2011 Supercell raised $12 million in funding with Accel Partners and spoke to GamesIndustry International about the pressures that investment could bring.

"Firstly, the investors are in it for the long term, they're not in it for short-term win," said CEO Ilkka Paananen.

"That's a good starting point. I would say it creates some good, healthy pressure and there's people you are responsible for. But definitely, everybody is in this for the long term and that's really important for us."

Last October revealed it was grossing over $500,000 a day from its two iOS titles Clash of Clans and farm sim Hay Day.

GamesIndustry International has contacted Supercell for comment.

1 Comment

Craig Page Programmer

384 220 0.6
Will $100,000,000 be enough money for Supercell to make an Android version of anything?

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now