Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Crystal Dynamics, Visceral vets form Space Dust Studios

Crystal Dynamics, Visceral vets form Space Dust Studios

Wed 27 Mar 2013 11:30am GMT / 7:30am EDT / 4:30am PDT
Development

Core team of five devs working on a PC indie project with 18 month production cycle

A team composed of former staff from EA Visceral Melbourne, Crystal Dynamics, Criterion and Atari have established a new studio in Melbourne, Australia.

Space Dust Studios is an independent outfit that aims to bring AAA experience and production values to its games - the first of which is already in production.

According to a report on Tsumea.com, the identity of one of the developers, former Visceral Australia art director Nathan Brown, was revealed through a feedback letter to the Australian Interactive Games Fund on its draft guidelines for pre-production funding.

"In our particular case, our core team consists of 5 senior developers, with collectively over 50 years of AAA local and international development experience (including programming on the recently released Dead Space 3)," Brown's letter read.

"Our medium scale PC project has a planned 18 month development cycle, and will require significant local staffing resources during production. We also have interest from talented senior developers who are eager to return to Melbourne and join our project.

"We would benefit immensely from a pre-production 'seed' investment to produce the materials needed to attract the production investment required to complete the project. Our overall production budget will exceed AUD1million (inclusive of a professional marketing plan budget)."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now