Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

SoftBank acquires majority stake in GungHo Entertainment

SoftBank acquires majority stake in GungHo Entertainment

Tue 26 Mar 2013 11:54am GMT / 7:54am EDT / 4:54am PDT
Mobile

Japanese telecomms company buys $265m in stock in Puzzle & Dragons developer

The Japanese telecomms company SoftBank has gained approval from its directors for the acquisition of shares in GungHo Entertainment.

Once the deal is completed, SoftBank will have increased its stake from 33.6 per cent to 58.5 per cent, making GungHo Entertainment a subsidiary of the company. As part of the deal, SoftBank will acquire 73,400 shares from a company called Asian Groove for around 25 billion ($265m/175m).

SoftBank has described the acquisition as part of its strategy to become the number one mobile internet company in Japan. It has set a target of reaching 1 trillion in annual operating income by March 21, 2017.

GungHo Entertainment hit the headlines recently due to the enormous success of its mobile hit Puzzle & Dragons. In February, the company revealed that, at its peak, the game was earning around $2 million a day.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now