Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Unity moves to PlayStation 4, Vita, PS mobile and Sony cloud

Unity moves to PlayStation 4, Vita, PS mobile and Sony cloud

Fri 22 Mar 2013 8:03am GMT / 4:03am EDT / 1:03am PDT
Development

Developers will be able to port between formats with little re-coding

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Unity and Sony have confirmed that the middleware company's technology will now support the PlayStation 4, PlayStation Vita, PS Mobile and Sony's upcoming cloud gaming service.

Already available on PlayStation 3, Unity is a popular suite of tools and tech used in games across multiple formats, supported by a community of over 1.5 million developers.

"Work is still in early stages so it will be more than a couple of months before we have something for you all to play with, but we're hitting the ground running in the efforts to give you all more options to publish your awesome games," Unity commented to its development community.

"We're looking to begin releasing these tools late this year, which means a beta lays somewhere in between."

Sony said developers will be able to port games to and from any PlayStation platform easily, without the need to re-code titles from scratch.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now