Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Sony platforms dominate software sales in Japan

Sony platforms dominate software sales in Japan

Thu 21 Mar 2013 10:11am GMT / 6:11am EDT / 3:11am PDT
RetailHardware

PSP and PS3 releases take top two slots, Wii U continues to struggle

Sony's platforms enjoyed a rare strong week for software sales in Japan, as Sword Art Online and Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix took the top two spots.

According to Siliconera, for the week ending March 17, the highest-selling game in Japan was Namco Bandai's PSP release Sword Art Online: Infinity Moment, which shifted 138,180 units. Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix for PlayStation 3 wasn't far behind, selling 128,414 units.

Namco Bandai's Super Robot Taisen UX entered the chart in fourth place with 115,384 sales. The only other new entry to hit the top ten was God of War: Ascension, which reached eighth place with 19,744 sales.

In hardware, Nintendo's 3DS XL returned to its status as Japan's best-selling platform, after the PlayStation Vita's sales nearly halved following its strong performance the previous week. The Wii U continued to struggle, selling less than 10,000 units.

1 Comment

Andy Samson
QA Supervisor

228 176 0.8
It's kind of strange that they combine Vita 3G and Wifi only sales, and segregate 3DS and 3DS LL sales.

3DS LL:: 47,985
Vita:: 36,028
3DS:: 21,454

"The Wii U continued to struggle, selling less than 10,000 units."
It's still a fairly decent amount compared to a PS3 who's amassed 7 years of software. We all know this is mostly due to lack of Wii U games for the system. I'm still waiting for a game that will compel me to buy it (Pikmin).

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now