Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

New CTO for Facebook

New CTO for Facebook

Mon 18 Mar 2013 8:32am GMT / 4:32am EDT / 1:32am PDT
People

Promotion sees former vice president of engineering take new role

Mike Schroepfer has been appointed as Facebook's new chief technology officer after four and a half years with the company.

"Mike Schroepfer's new designation as Facebook's CTO reflects the unique and important role he plays across the company," Facebook told AllThingsD.

Schroepfer was previously vice president of engineering at the social network, a position he took in August 2008 after leaving Mozilla. He's reportedly focused on engineering, infrastructure and the company's mobile strategy.

He replaces Bret Taylor who left Facebook last June.

In January Facebook's financial results saw strong growth in the mobile sector of its business with mobile ad revenue up 9 per cent. Advertising representing 84 per cent of all revenue earned in the fourth quarter.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now