Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Spec Ops: The Line dev picks up Unreal Engine 4

Spec Ops: The Line dev picks up Unreal Engine 4

Thu 14 Mar 2013 3:18pm GMT / 11:18am EDT / 8:18am PDT
Developer ToolsTechnology

German studio Yager licenses Epic Games' latest tech for next-gen AAA title

YAGER Development

YAGER is an independent developer of computer and video games based in Berlin, Germany. We are an English-speaking...

yager.de

Last year's Spec Ops: The Line was built on Unreal Engine 3, and as Yager readies its next-gen follow-up, it will do so using Epic's next-gen tech. Epic today announced that it has licensed Unreal Engine 4 to Yager for the German studio to use in an unannounced next-gen AAA game.

Spec Ops: The Line received critical approval for a story inspired by Joseph Conrad's "Heart of Darkness", but the first-person shooter posted disappointing sales for publisher Take-Two. The next project from the 100-person studio is expected to be revealed "in the coming months."

Epic began announcing Unreal Engine 4 licensing deals late last year. So far, the company has publicized a handful of agreements with partners like Square Enix, Zombie Studios, and NC Soft. Yager is the first independent European studio to sign on to use Unreal Engine 4.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now