Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Asda eyes HMV - Report

Asda eyes HMV - Report

Tue 12 Mar 2013 10:43am GMT / 6:43am EDT / 3:43am PDT
Retail

"They've been looking at taking on the brand"

The latest rumours in the retail world suggest that supermarket chain Asda could be ready to swoop in and snap up entertainment retail chain HMV

The Sun reports that the supermarket chain is currently in talk with administrators Deloitte about a possible deal.

"Asda has been looking at HMV and it's not about taking on a few stores to convert into supermarkets. They've been looking at taking on the brand - the business," a source told the paper.

At the beginning of this month the paper reported that retail group Hilco was interested in 130 HMV stores, suggesting the supermarket chain has competition for the deal.

HMV is facing a number of rent bills from landlords at the end of this month, so the race is on to settle its affairs before then.

So far 103 of the chain's 219 shops have been marked for closure.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now