Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Scopely counts Double Fine among early partners

Scopely counts Double Fine among early partners

Fri 01 Mar 2013 8:57am GMT / 3:57am EST / 12:57am PST
MobilePublishingDevelopment

Mobile newtork also snares Big Cave, Rocket Jump, High Line and Zupcat

The start-up mobile gaming network Scopely has welcomed Double Fine Productions among its first wave of partners.

Scopely's aim is to create a network for independent mobile game developers that will give them collective strength against huge competitors like Zynga and EA. Big Cave Games, High Line Games, Rocket Jump Games and Zupcat Games will join Double Fine as the first partners to sign up for Scopely's services.

Those services include back-end infrastructure, marketing, analytics and, crucially, monetisation. In an interview with GamesBeat, Scopely's CEO Walter Driver claimed that it earns four to eight times more revenue on average from a non-paying user due to its strong relationships with brands.

"We're closer to a television network's relationship, with the companies creating the content for that network," he said. "We're a new kind of entertainment company."

Scopely raised $8.5 million in funding in September 2012. At present, it aims to release 6 to 12 games a year, keeping the emphasis firmly on quality.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now