Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

The War Z returns to Steam

The War Z returns to Steam

Wed 27 Feb 2013 4:53pm GMT / 11:53am EST / 8:53am PST
BusinessOnline

After being pulled last December, the controversial shooter has been reinstated on the Steam store

Hammerpoint's The War Z is now back on Steam for $15. Last December, Valve apologized for "prematurely" issuing a release of The War Z, and the game was quickly pulled from Steam following accusations that the developer deliberately misled users by listing features in its marketing materials that were not in the finished product.

The War Z executive producer Sergey Titov at the time chalked up the missing gameplay features to miscommunication. He said that the "store description contained information about what game features [were] planned for 2012-early 2013 content updates." Hammerpoint is now updating the title for gamers who already purchased it during the brief release in December.

That's not the only controversy surrounding The War Z either. The game saw its trademark suspended in November because it was apparently too similar to Max Brook's novel World War Z and the upcoming film adaptation. Furthermore, Day Z creator Dean Hall took Hammerpoint to task because it's incredibly like the mod for Arma II.

"I'm quite hurt personally because anyone can see how similar the words are, and while the average gamer knows the difference, individual people don't," Hall wrote on Reddit last month. "I've had family members/close friends mistake the difference and confront me about what they believed was unethical behaviour they thought I was making."

1 Comment

Dave Herod
Senior Programmer

517 734 1.4
It'll be interesting to see how well it sells with that 23/100 metacritic rating on its page.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now