Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Angry Birds web cartoon coming March 16

Angry Birds web cartoon coming March 16

Wed 27 Feb 2013 2:40am GMT / 9:40pm EST / 6:40pm PST
OnlineMedia

Angry Birds continues its expansion into other media

Rovio Entertainment has announced the launch a brand-new cartoon series based on its popular Angry Birds franchise. The series, Angry Birds Toons, will be premiering on Rovio's website on March 16. The series will dig deeper into the motivations of the cartoon kamikaze birds and their porcine adversaries.

Rovio distributing the Angry Birds show lines up with comments by chief executive officer Mikael Hed earlier this month.

"Previously content creators were reliant on others who had the channel. The content itself is the channel," Hed told the Wall Street Journal. "We have become the channel."

Angry Birds Toons is most likely the work of Kombo Animation, a studio acquired by Rovio in June 2011. According to the Wall Street Journal, Kombo's team has tripled to around 70 employees since the acquisition.

"I told them 'whatever you do, please make an animated series people will still want to watch 50 years from now," Hed explained.

2 Comments

Andrew Watson Programmer

98 244 2.5
Oh please no.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Krzysztof Nizielski Junior QA Project Lead, Testronic

34 34 1.0
Coming soon to a fridge near you!

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now