Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nexon invests in Robotoki

Nexon invests in Robotoki

Mon 25 Feb 2013 6:33pm GMT / 1:33pm EST / 10:33am PST
Financial

Free-to-play publisher aiding fledgling studio from ex-Call of Duty strategist Robert Bowling

Nexon

- Specialized in developing, publishing and servicing online games

- Games in service: 17 unique games...

company.nexon.com/en...

The Japanese free-to-play giant behind Maple Story is banking on some success in the West. Nexon today announced that it has made a strategic investment into Robotoki, the Los Angeles-based development studio founded by Robert Bowling.

The scope and terms of the investment weren't made public, but Nexon's assistance will go toward Robotoki's multi-screen, cross-platform game development. The studio's first title, the zombie survival game Human Element, is being made for consoles, PCs, and iOS and Android devices, with a fourth quarter 2015 release window. Bowling has previously said his goal with the studio is to create experiences tailored to each platform, creating unique single- and multiplayer efforts in a shared world.

Nexon released a statement from Bowling in which the developer said the partnership would provide Robotoki with "invaluable access to [Nexon's] expertise and world-class resources."

Bowling is best known for his years as the face of Infinity Ward and the Call of Duty franchise. He left his position as creative strategist at the studio last March, and founded Robotoki the following month.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now