Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Rock Band DLC releases are done in April

Rock Band DLC releases are done in April

Mon 18 Feb 2013 11:11pm GMT / 6:11pm EST / 3:11pm PST

Harmonix will stop releasing new songs for Rock Band

Harmonix has announced that it will no longer be supporting its Rock Band platform with new downloadable songs after April 2, 2013. That date will mark the last weekly Rock Band release, according to a recent post on the official Rock Band forums.

"We've managed to maintain a consistent release schedule for a staggering 275 consecutive weeks, releasing over 4,000 songs for the Rock Band Platform, but in recent months we've scaled production down as we've transitioned resources onto other projects. With several new titles in development and developers needed to usher these new games along, April 2nd will be the last weekly DLC release for Rock Band." wrote Rock Band manager of community development Aaron Trites in the post.

"We're incredibly proud of the DLC milestones we've set, especially producing the largest music library of any game available, and we wouldn't have been able to release as much outstanding content without the support of our amazing community," he added.

The last release in the series was Rock Band Blitz, which launched in August of 2012 for PlayStation Network and Xbox Live Arcade.

1 Comment

Funny - Just as Konami releases a whole new version of BEMANI in Japan - including new GuitarMania franchise!

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now