Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

JJ Abrams and Gabe Newell's Full DICE Keynote

JJ Abrams and Gabe Newell's Full DICE Keynote

Thu 14 Feb 2013 9:33am GMT / 4:33am EST / 1:33am PST
EventsPeopleDICE 2013

Video: The face of Valve and the Hollywood director on-stage at last week's conference

Valve, as we've seen recently, can be something of a closed shop. Notoriously hard to get hold of or engage with from a press angle, the PC poster child is annoyingly good at sticking to its policy of controlled information.

Individual executives, however, are often happy to speak quite freely when given the chance, and this on-stage keynote with Gabe Newell and Star Trek director JJ Abrams is an excellent look at what powers the fizzing quantum computer we all suspect is behind Newell's unblinking gaze.

Their discussion, billed as "Storytelling Across Platforms: Who Benefits Most, The Audience or the Player?" is a close analysis of narrative traditions in gaming and film, what can be done to improve each and what they can learn from each other.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now