Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GameStop prepares for 250 store closures in 2013

GameStop prepares for 250 store closures in 2013

Wed 13 Feb 2013 8:23am GMT / 3:23am EST / 12:23am PST
RetailPublishing

Reduction offset by up to 70 store openings and 40 store acquisitions

The retail giant GameStop plans to streamline its operations in 2013 with the closure of 250 stores, Polygon reports.

In a presentation at the recent Goldman Sachs Technology and Internet Conference, CFO Rob Lloyd said that the closures would affect unprofitable and marginally profitable stores, mainly in areas with an alternate GameStop store nearby. Only 50 of the closed stores will be outside of the US.

"We've been successful at that for two years and we will continue to do that program in 2013," he said.

However, the closures will be mitigated by the opening of between 60 and 70 new stores, and the acquisition of 40 stores in France from the European retailer Game.

Lloyd did not comment on whether the closures would lead to redundancies.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now