Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Success overseas brings 50% growth for DeNA

Success overseas brings 50% growth for DeNA

Thu 07 Feb 2013 9:28am GMT / 4:28am EST / 1:28am PST
MobileFinancial

Mobile company expects 206 bn revenues, 44.8 bn profit for full year

Japanese mobile publisher DeNA has posted financial results for Q3, 2012 - showing growth of around 50 per cent in both sales and profits over last year. For the quarter, DeNA filed revenues of 52.3 billion and operating profit of 19.9 billion.

Both of these figures represent a significant financial growth over the year previous - success largely attributed to overseas success, particularly for the Mobage network. Domestic growth was also strong, with spending of the company's proprietary Moba-coins in Japan hitting a record high - topping 20 billion in December alone. Over $50 million worth of Moba coins were spent outside Japan during the quarter.

Whilst revenues were up 52 per cent year on year, quarterly growth was more modest, up four per cent from Q2, FY2012, a reflection of the consolidation of last year's big push into new markets. That push has lead to studio acquisitions and a feedback loop of overseas content into the domestic market.

Mobage isn't the only platform where DeNA is seeing success - in December, DeNA games occupied the top three slots on Google Play's top grossing app list with Rage of Bahamut, Blood Brothers and Marvel: War of Heroes. The company has also been expanding beyond games, seeing quick take up of its Comm free calls app and music service Groovy.

Full year predictions for DeNA are a 50 payout per share on revenues of 206 billion and a profit of 44.8 billion.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now