Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Profits drop almost 50% across Konami Corporation

Profits drop almost 50% across Konami Corporation

Thu 07 Feb 2013 9:03am GMT / 4:03am EST / 1:03am PST
BusinessFinancial

Publisher lowers full-year expectations following delays to social content

Sales in Konami's console and digital business dropped 19 per cent to 80.5 billion ($859m / 547.6m) for the nine months ended December 31, 2012.

The decrease in sales were just part of a downturn across the whole Konami Corporation, in a period that saw profits drop 48 per cent to 8.2 billion ($94m / 60m), compared to 17 billion the previous year.

The company is now forecasting full-year profits of 13.5 billion ($144.1m / 91.8m), down 43 per cent. The downgrade is attributed to the delay of new content for social networks and the postponement of slot machines until the next fiscal year.

The company noted "solid" sales of football franchise Pro Evolution Soccer 2013 and 34 million registered users of Konami's social content, including Dragon Collection.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now