Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Double Fine and Words With Friends creator supporting Ouya

Double Fine and Words With Friends creator supporting Ouya

Thu 07 Feb 2013 2:58am GMT / 9:58pm EST / 6:58pm PST
MobileHardwareFree-to-Play

The Cave and Double Fine Adventure coming to the Android-powered console

During her talk at DICE 13, Ouya founder Julie Uhrman announced that the Double Fine and Words With Friends creator Paul Bettner are planning titles for the Android-powered console. Uhrman claims that over 450 titles are coming to the console.

Double Fine will be bringing the recently-released The Cave and the Kickstarted Double Fine Adventure to the Ouya. She also revealed that the Double Fine Adventure is currently code-named Reds. Bettner is creating a brand-new, self-funded studio, Verse, to focus on Ouya development.

"Why can't I get that experience on my TV," Bettner told VentureBeat. "A bunch of people like me are waiting for this to happen in their living room. This talk of consoles dying is ridiculous. I want to take what I learned and bring it back to the industry I left. The app store democratized gaming on mobile devices. The same opportunity should exist on the console."

[Image via AndroidHeadlines]

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now